Jeff Gordon’s Crew Wins Tissot Pit Road Award in Charlotte

checkered-flag2nd straight Tissot win and fifth overall for No. 24 Crew

Jeff Gordon’s crew won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Saturday night’s Sprint Cup race at Lowe’s Motor Speedway near Charlotte.

Gordon’s No. 24 crew, which also won the pit road award the previous week in California, has five Tissot season victories and has moved within one win of the lead.

The Tissot leader with five races remaining in the 2009 campaign is Greg Biffle’s No. 16 crew with six pit road wins.

Along with the $5,000 prize money for each weekly Tissot win, the crew with the most wins following the 36-race Cup schedule will collect a $100,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the crew and driver.

Gordon’s DuPont/Transformers Chevy Impala SS spent the least amount of time on pit road during the 334-lap, 500-mile race (271.888 seconds). The quick pit stops helped Gordon to a fourth-place finish in the NASCAR Banking 500.

“It was another total team effort that got us our third consecutive top-five finish,” said Steve Letarte, crew chief of the No. 24 DuPont Chevrolet. “Track position was important during Saturday night’s race, and it was a solid effort by the crew to help us get it — and keep it — during the event.”

Gordon’s pit crew consists of: Clay Robinson (front-tire changer), Mike Houston (front tire carrier), Tim Ladyga (rear-tire changer), Jeff Knight (rear-tire carrier), Jeff Cook (jackman), Caleb Hurd (gasman), Jamie Frady (catch can) and Andy Kruep (eighth man). The pit crew coach is Greg Morin.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

2009 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Standings
Pos Team No. Pit Crew For Wins Prize Money
1 16 Greg Biffle 6 30,000
2 24 Jeff Gordon 5 25,000
3 48 Jimmie Johnson 3 15,000
T4 14 Tony Stewart 2 10,000
T4 39 Ryan Newman 2 10,000
T4 33 Clint Bowyer 2 10,000
T7 43 Reed Sorenson 1 5,000
T7 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 1 5,000
T7 1 Martin Truex Jr. 1 5,000
T7 00 David Reutimann 1 5,000
T7 99 Carl Edwards 1 5,000
T7 42 Juan Pablo Montoya 1 5,000
T7 11 Denny Hamlin 1 5,000
T7 9 Kasey Kahne 1 5,000
T7 20 Joey Logano 1 5,000
T7 44 AJ Allmendinger 1 5,000
T7 26 Jamie McMurray 1 5,000

2009 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners
Daytona, 2/15 Reed Sorenson Team
Fontana, 2/22 Tony Stewart Team
Las Vegas, 3/1 Greg Biffle Team
Atlanta 3/8 Clint Bowyer Team
Bristol, 3/22 Jimmie Johnson Team
Martinsville, 3/29 Jeff Gordon Team
Fort Worth, 4/5 Jeff Gordon Team
Phoenix, 4/18 Ryan Newman Team
Talladega, 4/26 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team
Richmond, 5/2 Jeff Gordon Team
Darlington, 5/9 Martin Truex Jr. Team
Charlotte, 5/25 David Reutimann Team
Dover, 5/31 Greg Biffle Team
Pocono, 6/7 Carl Edwards Team
Michigan, 6/14 Greg Biffle Team
Sonoma, 6/21 Juan Pablo Montoya Team
New Hampshire, 6/28 Jimmie Johnson Team
Daytona, 7/4 Tony Stewart Team
Chicagoland, 7/11 Denny Hamlin Team
Indianapolis, 7/26 Greg Biffle Team
Pocono, 8/3 Kasey Kahne Team
Watkins Glen, 8/10 Jimmie Johnson Team
Michigan, 8/16 Joe Logano Team
Bristol, 8/22 Greg Biffle Team
Atlanta, 9/6 AJ Allmendinger Team
Richmond, 9/12 Jamie McMurray Team
New Hampshire, 9/20 Ryan Newman Team
Dover, 9/27 Clint Bowyer Team
Kansas, 10/4 Greg Biffle Team
Fontana, 10/11 Jeff Gordon Team
Charlotte, 10/17 Jeff Gordon Team


Top Stories

  • Tags